SMALL INCINERATION PLANT FOR PLASTIC WASTE AND OTHER ORGANIC MATERIALS

THE WASTE PROCESSING PLANT

With the aid of the newly developed thermal waste material utilisation plant, organic waste materials such as wood, plastics, harvest residues and forest waste can be incinerated and subsequently converted into superheated steam or electrical energy.
The resulting flue gases are purified and the required process water is treated or recycled
.

THE PROBLEM

In 2019, approximately 350 million tons of plastic waste were generated worldwide. Of this, less than 25% was recycled or thermally used. The remainder was disposed of in the environment, where it is particularly harmful to the maritime life.
Due to the many advantages plastic has over other packaging materials, it cannot be assumed that the amount of plastic waste generated worldwide will decrease. With the exception of urban conurbations, most used plastics end up scattered and decentralised in the environment, so that conventional large-scale incineration plants cannot be operated economically in rural areas.

THE SOLUTION

The newly developed thermal waste processing plant was specially developed for the utilisation of organic waste materials such as wood, plastics and harvest residues.
Depending on the plant configuration, a wide variety of organic residues and types of plastics can be treated. If an appropriate flue gas cleaning system is used, polyvinyl chloride (PVC) can also be processed in the incineration plant.
In addition, harvest residues and forest waste can also be used, among other things, bagasse, coconut husks, dried fruit waste, etc.  Depending on the type of plant, the electrical plant output varies between 100 kWel. and 3 MWel.
By using an absorption chiller, the unused waste heat can be converted into process cooling.

Process principle of the thermal waste utilisation plant for steam or electrical power generation presented in a highly simplified form

As this diagram shows, the waste utilisation plant is divided into four functional groups:

 

  • Funktional group I:

Residual material storage for plastic waste, wood and residual materials from agriculture and forestry as well as residual material preparation with shredder and optional pelletisation

  • Funktional group II:   

Combustion plant for superheated steam generation

  • Funktional group III:   

Steam engine or steam turbine with generator for electrical power generation including cooling water system

  • Funktional group IV:

Exhaust gas and process water purification plant

  • Optional:

Use of an absorption refrigeration system with which unused waste heat can be converted into process refrigeration.

With the help of the waste utilisation plant, the use of fossil energy sources such as coal, crude oil and natural gas can be avoided. By abandoning the use of fossil energy sources, the desired sustainable climate targets can be supported.


Optionally, the unused thermal energy can be used for cooling buildings or for technical processes with the aid of an absorption refrigeration system.


In contrast to finite fossil resources, organic residues form a virtually inexhaustible reservoir of high-quality fuels with high energetic potential.


The waste utilisation plant is variable in terms of its electrical output. According to this fact, it can be adapted to municipalities or energy parks of different sizes.


The pre-sorted organic residues have a much higher calorific value than conventional household waste and are therefore particularly suitable for decentralised energy generation in the form of electricity, heating and process steam.


When the organic residues are incinerated, the process is controlled in such a way that strict environmental requirements are met. The minimum temperature in the combustion chamber is 850 ºC, which completely destroys potential pollutants such as dioxins and furans.


On request, possible nitrogen oxides can be converted into environmentally neutral nitrogen (N2) and water (H2O) by adding urea. A multi-stage exhaust gas purification system reduces dust, heavy metals and other pollutants to a minimum. Remaining slag can be recycled and used, for example, in road construction and landfill construction.


The waste water generated during exhaust gas cleaning is treated in a multi-stage cleaning process to such an extent that it can be reused as process water.


The conversion of organic waste materials produces valuable electrical power and thermal energy without the need to use expensive fossil fuels, see Technical Description "Conversion of Organic Waste Materials into Electric Power".

Herbst_80x80.png

Weiter zu:

KLEIN-VERBRENNUNGSANLAGE FÜR KUNSTSTOFFABFÄLLE UND ANDERE ORGANISCHE STOFFE

DIE RESTSTOFFVERWERTUNGSANLAGE

Mit Hilfe der neuentwickelten thermischen  Reststoffverwertungsanlage lassen sich organische Reststoffe, wie z. B. Holz, Kunststoffe, Ernterückstände und Forstabfälle verbrennen und im Folgeschritt  in Heißdampf bzw. elektrische Energie umwandeln. 

Die dabei anfallenden Rauchgase werden gereinigt und das erforderliche Prozesswasser aufbereitet bzw. recycelt. 

DAS PROBLEM

Im Jahr 2019 fielen weltweit ca. 350 Mio. Tonnen Plastikmüll an. Davon wurden weniger als 25% recycelt bzw. thermisch verwertet. Der Rest gelangte in der Umwelt, wo er besonders den maritimen Raum belastet.

Auf Grund der vielen Vorteile den Kunststoff gegenüber anderen Verpackungsmaterialien aufweist, ist nicht davon auszugehen, dass die weltweite anfallende Plastikmüllmenge abnimmt. Mit Ausnahme von urbanen Ballungsgebieten  gelangen die meisten Altkunststoffe verstreut und dezentral in die Umwelt, so dass sich im ländlichen Raum herkömmliche Großverbrennungsanlagen nicht wirtschaftliche betreiben werden lassen.

DIE LÖSUNG

Die neu entwickelte thermische Reststoffverwertungsanlage wurde speziell für die Verwertung von organischen Reststoffen, wie z. B. Holz, Kunststoffe, und Ernterückstände entwickelt.

 

Je nach Anlagenkonfiguration lassen sich die unterschiedlichsten organischen Reststoffe und Kunststoffarten verwerten. Sofern eine entsprechende Rauchgasreinigung betrieben wird, kann auch Polyvinylchlorid (PVC) in der Verbrennungsanlage verwertet werden. 

Darüber hinaus lassen sich Ernterückstände und Forstabfälle unter anderem auch Bagasse, Kokosnussschalen, getrocknete Fruchtabfälle usw. nutzen.  Je nach Anlagentyp variiert die elektrische Anlagenleistung zwischen 100 kWel. und 3 MWel.

Durch den Einsatz einer Absorptionskälteanlage lässt sich die ungenutzte Abwärme in Prozesskälte umwandeln.

Verfahrensprinzip der thermischen Reststoffverwertungsanlage zur Dampf- bzw. elektrischen Stromerzeugung in einer stark vereinfachten Form dargestellt

Wie dieses Schema zeigt, untergliedert sich die Reststoffverwertungsanlage in vier Funktionsgruppen:

 

  • Funktionsgruppe I:

Reststofflager für Kunststoffabfälle, Holz und Reststoffe aus der Land- und Forstwirtschaft sowie Reststoffaufbereitung mit Schredder und optional einer Pelletierung

  • Funktionsgruppe II:   

Feuerungsanlage zur Heißdampferzeugung

  • Funktionsgruppe III:   

Dampfmotor oder Dampfturbine mit Generator zur elektr. Stromerzeugung inklusive Kühlwassersystem

  • Funktionsgruppe IV:

Abgas- und Prozesswasserreinigungsanlage

  • Optional:

Einsatz einer Absorptionskälteanlage mit der sich ungenutzte Abwärme in Prozesskälte umwandeln lasst

Mit Hilfe der Reststoffverwertungsanlage kann auf den Einsatz von fossilen Energieträgern, wie z. B. Kohle, Erdöl und Erdgas verzichtet werden. Durch den Verzicht fossile Energieträger zu nutzen, können die angestrebten nachhaltigen Klimaziele unterstützt werden.

Optional lässt sich die ungenutzte thermische Energie mit Hilfe einer Absorptionskälteanlage zur Gebäudekühlung oder für technische Prozesse nutzen.

 

Im Gegensatz zu den endlichen fossilen Ressourcen bilden organische Reststoffe ein quasi unerschöpfliches Reservoire an hochwertigen Brennstoffen mit hohem energetischem Potenzial.

 

Die Reststoffverwertungsanlage ist variabel in Bezug auf ihre elektrische Leistung. Gemäß diesem Sachverhalt kann sie an unterschiedlich großen Kommunen bzw. Energieparks angepasst werden.

 

Die vorsortierten organischen Reststoffe haben einen wesentlich höheren Brennwert als herkömmlicher Hausmüll, daher eignen sie sich besonders zur dezentralen Gewinnung von Energie in Form von elektrischem Strom, Heiz- und Prozessdampf.

 

Bei der Verbrennung der organischen Reststoffe wird der Prozess derart gesteuert, dass auch strenge Umweltauflagen erfüllt werden. So liegt die Mindesttemperatur in der Brennkammer bei 850 ºC, wodurch mögliche Schadstoffe, wie etwa Dioxine und Furane vollständig zerstört werden.

 

Auf Wunsch lassen sich mögliche Stickoxide durch die Zugabe von Harnstoff in umweltneutralen Stockstoff (N2) und Wasser (H2O) umwandeln. Eine mehrstufige Abgasreinigungsanlage reduziert Staub, Schwermetalle und weitere Schadstoffe auf ein Minimum. Verbleibende Schlacken lassen sich recyceln und z. B. im Straßenbau und Deponiebau nutzen.

  

Das Abwasser, welches bei der Abgasreinigung anfällt, wird in einen mehrstufigen Reinigungsprozess soweit aufbereitet, dass es sich wieder als Prozesswasser nutzen lässt.

 

Durch die Umwandlung der organischen Reststoffe wird wertvoller elektrischer Strom und thermische Energie gewonnen, ohne dass dabei teure fossilen Energieträgern verbraucht werden, vgl. Technische Beschreibung  „Umwandlung von organischen Reststoffen in elektrischen Strom“

Kontakt

Mail: info(at)herbstumwelt.de

Tel: +49 (0)30 847 18 300

EQM-ZERT-ISO-9001-gross.jpg

© 2019 Herbst Umwelttechnik GmbH

Herbst_80x80.png